The American Board of Sleep Medicine (ABSM) is an independent, nonprofit organization whose certificates are recognized throughout the world as a credential signifying a high level of competence for sleep medicine physicians, PhDs, behavioral sleep medicine specialists and sleep technologists.

A primary goal of the ABSM is to make its certification examinations relevant for all stakeholders, and a broad representation of stakeholders is included in its governance. The 10-member Executive Board of the ABSM consists of distinguished sleep medicine physicians in education, research and clinical practice; behavioral sleep medicine specialists in research and clinical practice; and sleep technologists active in the profession. The ABSM Executive Board and Board of Directors strive to improve training, establish the requirements for certification and set the standards for its examinations.

Certification by the ABSM has one objective -- to promote excellence in medical care for patients with sleep disorders. Certification represents dedication to the highest level of professionalism in patient care. ABSM certification is an added measure of expertise that provides a standard of excellence by which the public and members of government and regulatory bodies can identify skill, experience and competence.

Board of Directors

Kelly Carden, MD
Nathaniel Watson, MD, MS
Past President
Ron Chervin, MD
M. Safwan Badr, MD
Doug Kirsch, MD
David Kristo, MD
Timothy Morgenthaler, MD
Susan Redline, MD 
  Ilene Rosen, MD
Steven Shea, PhD
Terri Weaver, PhD, RN
Merrill Wise, MD 
Jerome A. Barrett
Executive Director